Twitter Settles In for College Football Playoff

By David Cohen Comment

Earlier this month, the College Football Playoff Selection Committee revealed the matchups for its semifinal games New Year’s Eve, and those teams shared their reactions on Twitter.

David Herman, who works on sports partnerships for Twitter, shared the tweets below from the four teams that will compete in the semifinals–No. 1 University of Alabama versus No. 4 University of Washington, and No. 2 Clemson University versus No. 3 Ohio State University—in a blog post.

Twitter also debuted five hashtag-triggered emoji for tweets containing #CFBPlayoff, #RollTide, #ALLIN, #GoBucks and #PurpleReign, and Herman added that once the matchup for the championship game is determined, fans tweeting with the #NationalChampionship hashtag will see the championship trophy.

Alabama and Washington go at it in the Peach Bowl at 3 p.m. ET Dec. 31, while Clemson and Ohio State will battle in the Fiesta Bowl at 8 p.m., with both games airing on ESPN.

Readers: Who is your pick for this year’s national champion?

Image on homepage courtesy of CFB Playoff Twitter account.