Oculus Rift Pre-Orders Start Wednesday; Touch Delayed

By David Cohen Comment


Pre-orders for the Oculus Rift headset from Facebook-owned virtual-reality outfit Oculus VR will begin at 8 a.m. PT/11 a.m. ET Wednesday, but gamers waiting for Oculus Touch controllers will have to wait a little longer.

Oculus announced in a blog post that every Rift headset will come pre-bundled with Lucky’s Tale from Playful, as previously announced, along with new addition EVE: Valkyrie from CCP Games.


The company also explained the delayed launch for Touch in a separate blog post:

On the path to perfecting Touch, we’ve decided that we need more time before release, and we’ll now be shipping Touch in the second half of 2016. Pre-orders will open a few months prior to launch.

On Touch hardware, we’ve made significant advances in ergonomics, and we’re implementing many changes that make Touch even more comfortable, reliable and natural. We’re also implementing changes that improve hand-pose recognition.

We’re also outputting larger numbers of pre-production runs, which means we can get a lot more Touch hardware in the hands of developers who need it.


Finally, Oculus founder Palmer Luckey will take part in an Ask Me Anything session on Reddit Wednesday at 6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET.

Gamers: Do you plan to pre-order the Oculus Rift?