NBA TV To Air NBA Social Media Awards Wednesday Night

By David Cohen 

The National Basketball Association Finals between the Miami Heat and Oklahoma City Thunder is in full swing, and the league will take advantage of an off-night in the series Wednesday, when its television arm, NBA TV, will air the first-ever NBA Social Media Awards at 9 p.m. ET.

The show will air the highlights from the 2011-12 NBA regular season that generated the most engagement, and it will be hosted by three-time NBA champion Rick Fox, former NBA superstar and TNT and NBA TV Analyst Shaquille O’Neal, and SLAM magazine Editor-at-Large Lang Whitaker, with contributions from The Basketball Jones’ J.E. Skeets and Tas Melas.

The winner of the “Social Breakout Player of the Year” award will be announced later Monday, with nominees including the New York Knicks’ Jeremy Lin, the Minnesota Timberwolves’ Ricky Rubio, and the Thunder’s Serge Ibaka. Other award categories will include:

  • The BIG (Best in the Game) Award: for the player that best utilizes social media across platforms.
  • The LOL (Laugh Out Loud) Award: for the team/players who had the most shared/liked blooper video during the regular season.
  • The Social SLAM Award: for the favorite dunk during regular season voted on by the fans.
  • The FanNation Award: for the team with the highest percentage increase across all platforms.

Readers: What is your favorite NBA team, and how do you interact with the club and its players via Facebook?