You might find yourself, on occasion, the recipient or sender of hostile or just plain weird Facebook messages. And you likely delete these messages after a period of time by clicking the handy “X” to the right of each one. If this all rings true so far, know that all of those conversations are still there, waiting to come back to haunt you.
As The Daily Dot recently pointed out, merely deleting messages from your Facebook inbox by pressing the X does not delete them – rather, “it is sent to your archived folder.”
It’s actually kind of silly to not catch. When you hover over the X in your inbox, it clearly says “archive.” But who pays attention to that stuff?
Also, did you know that every time you “leave a conversation,” those go to your archive, as well?
Where is this mysterious archive? Go to your inbox and click the drop-down to the left, and you’ll see it. Oh, and click on the “other” tab next to “inbox” while you’re at it if you haven’t before. You will likely find spam and hate mail from people who aren’t “friends” with you (unless you’re one of those perfect people, that is. Please leave a comment below stating as much and I’ll send you some.):
How, pray tell, does one seriously, completely, and totally delete Facebook messages? Well, it’s always there somewhere, sad rabbit. But to remove these messages well enough that a layperson (you, me, your boyfriend) can’t find them, you need to delete the conversation, like so:
I’ll leave you to that now. Good luck!
Readers: Did you know about these options for Facebook messages?
Image of woman with smartphone courtesy of Shutterstock.