Susanna Daniel & Danielle Evans Share PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize

By Jason Boog Comment

Susanna Daniel (Stiltsville) and Danielle Evans (Before You Suffocate Your Own Fool Self) both won the $25,000 PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize, as all the winners of the 2011 PEN Literary Awards were revealed today.

The winners will be celebrated at an awards ceremony on Wednesday, October 12, 2011, at CUNY’s Proshansky Auditorium in New York City.

The complete list of winners follows below. Here’s more: “PEN will present 17 awards, fellowships, grants, and prizes—including one that has been revived after a five-year hiatus, the PEN/Diamonstein-Spielvogel Award for the Art of the Essay, and three awards offered for the first time ever: the PEN Emerging Writers Awards, the PEN/E. O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award, and the PEN/ESPN Lifetime Achievement Award for Literary Sports Writing.”

PEN/E. O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award ($10,000):
Siddhartha Mukherjee, The Emperor of All Maladies (Scribner)

PEN/W. G. Sebald Award for a Fiction Writer in Mid-Career ($10,000):
Aleksandar Hemon

PEN/John Kenneth Galbraith Award for Nonfiction ($10,000):
Robert Perkinson, Texas Tough: The Rise of America’s Prison Empire (Metropolitan Books, 2010)

PEN/Laura Pels Foundation Awards for an American Playwright in Mid-Career and a Master American Dramatist ($7,500):

American Playwright in Mid-Career
Marcus Gardley

Master American Dramatist
David Henry Hwang

PEN/Diamonstein-Spielvogel Award for the Art of the Essay ($5,000):
Mark Slouka, Essays from the Nick of Time: Reflections and Refutations (Graywolf Press)

PEN/ESPN Award for Literary Sports Writing ($5,000):
George Dohrmann, Play Their Hearts Out (Ballantine Books)

PEN/ESPN Lifetime Achievement Award for Literary Sports Writing ($5,000):
Roger Angell

PEN/Jacqueline Bograd Weld Award for Biography ($5,000):
Stacy Schiff, Cleopatra: A Life (Little, Brown and Company)

PEN/Joyce Osterweil Award for Poetry ($5,000):
Ishion Hutchinson, Far District (Peepal Tree Press Ltd.)

PEN/Nora Magid Award ($5,000):
Brigid Hughes, Founding Editor of A Public Space

PEN Open Book Award ($5,000):
Manu Joseph, Serious Men (W. W. Norton & Company)

PEN/Phyllis Naylor Working Writer Fellowship ($5,000):
Lucy Frank, Two Girls Staring at the Ceiling, a novel in verse (available for publication)

PEN Award for Poetry in Translation ($3,000):
Khaled Mattawa, Adonis: Selected Poems (Yale University Press, The Margellos World Republic of Letters Series)

PEN Translation Prize ($3,000):
Ibrahim Muhawi, Journal of an Ordinary Grief by Mahmoud Darwish (Archipelago Books)

PEN Translation Fund Grants ($3,000):

Amiri Ayanna, The St. Katharinental Sister Book: Lives of the Sisters of the Dominican Convent at Diessenhofen (from Middle High German)

Neil Blackadder, The Test (Good Simon Korach), a play by Swiss dramatist and novelist Lukas Bärfuss (from German)

Clarissa Botsford, Sworn Virgin, a novel by Albanian writer and filmmaker Elvira Dones (from Italian)

Steve Bradbury, Salsa, a collection of poems by Taiwanese poet Hsia Yü (from Chinese)

Annmarie S. Drury, collection of poems by Tanzanian poet Euphrase Kezilahabi (from Swahili)

Diane Nemec Ignashev, Paranoia, a novel by Belarusian author Viktor Martinovich (from Russian)

Chenxin Jiang, Memories of the Cowshed, a memoir by Chinese author Ji Xianlin (from Chinese)

Hilary B. Kaplan, Rilke Shake, a collection of poetry by Brazilian writer Angélica Freitas (from Portuguese)

Catherine Schelbert, Flametti, or the Dandyism of the Poor, a novel by German writer Hugo Ball (from German)

Joel Streicker, Birds in the Mouth, a collection of short stories by Argentine writer Samanta Schweblin (from Spanish)

Sarah L. Thomas, Turnaround, a literary thriller by Spanish writer Mar Goméz Glez (from Spanish)

PEN Emerging Writers Awards ($1,660): One award each to an up-and-coming fiction writer, nonfiction writer, and poet who has been published in a distinguished literary journal, but who has yet to publish a book-length work. Awards presented for the first time in 2011. Judges for the inaugural awards: Reif Larsen, David Lehman, and Robin Romm.

Smith Henderson (nominated by Hannah Tinti of One Story)

David Stuart MacLean (nominated by Ladette Randolph of Ploughshares)

Adam Day (nominated by Erica Wright of Guernica)