Stephenie Meyer Wins Author of the Year Award

By Jason Boog Comment

bookweek.jpgIn a gala ceremony in New York City last night, the Children’s Choice Book Awards gave the Author of the Year prize to Stephenie Meyer for her novel, “Breaking Dawn.”

The winners were chosen in six categories, broken down by age groups–220,000 online votes were cast by children around the country. The awards ceremony celebrated the 90th observance of Children’s Book Week, which lasts from May 11-17, 2009. Read the complete list of winners after the jump.

Here’s more from the release: “The awards ceremony, hosted by National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature Jon Scieszka, included the presentation of an Impact Award to Whoopi Goldberg in recognition of her vast contribution to the promotion of literacy and the love of reading among young people.”

Kindergarten to Second Grade Book of the Year
The Pigeon Wants a Puppy! written and illustrated by Mo Willems (Hyperion Books for Children/Disney Book Group)

Third Grade to Fourth Grade Book of the Year
Spooky Cemeteries by Dinah Williams (Bearport Publishing)

Fifth Grade to Sixth Grade Book of the Year
Thirteen by Lauren Myracle (Dutton/Penguin Young Readers Group)

Teen Choice Book of the Year
Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer (Little, Brown and Company)

Illustrator of the Year
Jon J Muth, for Zen Ties (Scholastic Press)