Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers’ Award Winners Announced

By Maryann Yin Comment

rona2010.JPGThe The Rona Jaffe Foundation announced the 2010 Writers’ Award winners yesterday. Each winner receives $25,000.

The winners were: Hannah Dela Cruz Abrams (nonfiction), Rachel Aviv (nonfiction), Sara Elizabeth Johnson (poetry), Alexandria Marzano-Lesnevich (nonfiction), Laura Newbern (poetry), and Tiphanie Yanique (fiction).

Novelist Rona Jaffe founded the award in 1995, exclusively recognizes the work of female writers who are just starting their writing careers.

The award ceremony will take place on September 23rd in New York City with guest author Jane Brox.

Abrams plans to use the grant money to lighten her demanding schedule so that she has more time to write her memoir. Aviv works with medical patients in a clinic and will use the award to spend more time on her research. Marzano-Lesnevich and Johnson will hold off on a full-time job hunt and instead focus on writing. English professor Newborn will use the grant to take the semester off and focus on writing. Yanique’s award money will help her pay for elder care and childcare so she can focus on writing.