Quvenzhané Wallis Lands 4-Book Deal

By Maryann Yin Comment

Quvenzhané Wallis (GalleyCat)Quvenzhané Wallis has signed a four-book deal with Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers. Wallis (pictured, via) has become well-known for starring in several high-profile movies including Beasts of the Southern Wild, 12 Years a Slave, and Annie. She plans to write a picture book and a three-part chapter book series.

The first installment of the series will be released in January 2017. Both the second chapter book and the picture book will be published in Fall 2017. The third chapter book will follow in Summer 2018.

Here’s more from the press release: “Loosely based on the author’s own experiences, Miss Wallis’s yet-to-be-titled picture book follows a spunky young heroine who is very much looking forward to a night out with her mom at an awards show. The duo has a grand time getting dressed up, riding in a limo, and walking the red carpet. A precocious and talented third grader is the star of Miss Wallis’s chapter book series. The books follow Shai Williams, a star in the making, who has a flair for the dramatic . . . both onstage and off. Perfect for readers ages six and up, the series is sure to appeal to fans of Clementine and Judy Moody.”