Quentin Tarantino: ‘This Will Be the Writers’ Year’

By Jason Boog Comment

“This will be the writers’ year, man,” Quentin Tarantino cheered as he accepted the best original screenplay prize at the Academy Awards.  Screenwriter Chris Terrio won the best adapted screenplay Academy Award for his Argo script.

Earlier today, KCRW’s ‘The Business‘ producer Darby Maloney, TVNewser’s Alex Weprin, FishbowlLA’s Richard Horgan and GoldDerby editor Tom O’Neil joined us for a post-Oscars Google+ hangout about the awards (video embedded above).

We’ve linked to all the nominees in the screenwriting categories below…

Paperman, Disney’s short film about the joys of print and love, won the award for Best Animated Short Oscar. Watch the trailer here:


WRITING: Adapted Screenplay

Written by Chris Terrio
(based on The Master of Disguise by Tony Mendez and “Escape from Tehran” by Joshuah Bearman)

Beasts of the Southern Wild
Screenplay by Lucy Alibar & Benh Zeitlin
Based on “Juicy and Delicious” by Lucy Alibar

Life of Pi
Written by David Magee
Based on Life of Pi by Yann Martel

Written by Tony Kushner
Based on Team of Rivals: The Political Genius of Abraham Lincoln by Doris Kearns Goodwin

Silver Linings Playbook
Written by David O. Russell
Based on Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick

WRITING: Original Screenplay

Written by Michael Haneke

Django Unchained
Written by Quentin Tarantino

Written by John Gatins

Moonrise Kingdom
Written by Wes Anderson & Roman Coppola

Zero Dark Thirty
Written by Mark Boal