National Critics Circle Winners Revealed

By Dianna Dilworth Comment


The National Book Critics Circle revealed the recipients of its book awards for publishing year 2015. Paul Beatty’s novel The Sellout and Sam Quinones’ work Dreamland: The True Story of America’s Opiate Epidemic, won the prizes for fiction and non-fiction respectively.

Ross Gay took the poetry prize for Catalog of Unabashed Gratitude. Maggie Nelson received the criticism award for The Argonauts. Margo Jefferson won the autobiography prize for Negroland. Charlotte Gordon won the biography prize for Romantic Outlaws: The Extraordinary Lives of Mary Wollstonecraft and Her Daughter Mary Shelley.

Kirstin Valdez Quade’s story collection, “Night at the Fiestas” won the John Leonard Prize and Carlos Lozada was the recipient of the 2015 Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing. Wendell Berry earned the Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award.