National Book Foundation Announces This Year’s 5 Under 35 Honorees

By Maryann Yin Comment

Since 2006, the National Book Foundation (NBF) has hosted the “5 Under 35” award ceremony to highlight the achievements of five young fiction writers.

For the first time a young-adult author, John Corey Whaley, has been selected as an honoree. This year recognizes the following titles:

The People of Forever Are Not Afraid by Shani Boianjiu (selected by Nicole Krauss)

Before You Suffocate Your Own Fool Self by Danielle Evans (selected by Robert Stone)

The Walking People by Mary Beth Keane (selected by Julia Glass)

Bear Down, Bear North: Alaska Stories by Melinda Moustakis (selected by Jaimy Gordon)

Where Things Come Back by John Corey Whaley (selected by Oscar Hijuelos)

Like last year, the “5 Under 35” celebration will take place in Brooklyn’s powerHouse Arena at the start of National Book Awards Week on Monday, November 14. Filmmaker/Author John Waters will host. Poet and past NBA finalist Patricia Smith will DJ the party. Short story writer Emma Straub will interview honorees, winners and finalists during the party.