Jeff Kinney Wins Author of the Year Award at 2012 Children’s Choice Book Awards

By Maryann Yin Comment

Wimpy Kid series author and illustrator Jeff Kinney was crowned “Author of the Year” at the Children’s Choice Book Awards gala in New York City. This marked the second year in a row that a middle grade author has emerged victorious in this category.

Follow this link to check out videos from last night’s gala. We’ve posted the full list of winners below.

Kids cast their votes for the awards, breaking last year’s record with more than 900,000 submissions. The Children’s Book Council hosted the event to celebrate the 93rd anniversary of Children’s Book Week.

Lunch Lady series creator Jarrett J. Krosoczka returned to host the event. Presenters included National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature Walter Dean Myers, Magic Tree House series author Mary Pope Osborne and many others.


Children’s Choice Book Award Winners

Kindergarten to Second Grade Book of the Year: Three Hens and a Peacock by Lester L. Laminack & illustrated by Henry Cole (Peachtree)

Third Grade to Fourth Grade Book of the Year: Bad Kitty Meets the Baby by Nick Bruel (Roaring Brook/Macmillan)

Fifth Grade to Sixth Grade Book of the Year: Ok for Now by Gary D. Schmidt (Clarion Books/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

Teen Choice Book of the Year: Clockwork Prince: The Infernal Devices, Book Two by Cassandra Clare (Margaret K. McElderry/Simon & Schuster)

Illustrator of the Year: Brian Selznick for Wonderstruck (Scholastic)

Author of the Year: Jeff Kinney for Diary of a Wimpy Kid 6: Cabin Fever (Amulet Books/ABRAMS)