Geoff Dyer Wins NBCC Criticism Award

By Jason Boog Comment

Author Edith Pearlman has won the National Book Critics Circle (NBCC) award for for fiction for her collection, Binocular Vision: New & Selected Stories (Lookout Books) and Maya Jasanoff has won the nonfiction award for Liberty’s Exiles: American Loyalists in the Revolutionary World (Knopf).

Geoff Dyer took the criticism award for Otherwise Known as the Human Condition: Selected Essays and Reviews (Graywolf Press). On Sunday, we will host a free online viewing of Andrei Tarkovsky’s Stalker in honor of Dyer’s most recent book, Zona.

The award ceremony was held at the New School’s Tishman Auditorium in New York City. We’ve rounded up all the winners below…

John Lewis Gaddis won the biography award  for George F. Kennan: An American Life (Penguin Press) and Laura Kasischke won the poetry award for Space, in Chains (Copper Canyon Press).

The autobiography award went to Mira Bartók for The Memory Palace: A Memoir (Free Press).

Here’s more from the release: “Kathryn Schulz was presented the Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing, introduced by Carolyn Kellogg, and Roberts B. Silvers of the New York Review of Books was presented the Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award, introduced by Steven G. Kellman and Daniel Mendelsohn.”

Full disclosure: This GalleyCat editor is a member of the NBCC.