Cartoonist Studio Prize Shortlist Revealed

By Maryann Yin Comment

The Slate Book Review and the Center for Cartoon Studies have partnered for the Cartoonist Studio Prize. Two winners will be chosen , each receiving $1,000 in prize money.

This contest has two categories: Best Graphic Novel of the Year and Best Web Comic of the Year. Altogether, twenty comics creators have been recognized on the 2012 short lists.

Click here to check out the full announcement. Françoise Mouly, art editor of The New Yorker, will serve as this year’s judge.

The Cartoonist Studio Prize for Best Graphic Novel of the Year: 2012 Shortlist

Heads or Tails by Lilli Carré
Blacksad: A Silent Hell by Juan Díaz Canales and Juanjo Guarnido
Goliath by Tom Gauld
King City by Brandon Graham
By This Shall You Know Him by Jesse Jacobs
Little White Duck: A Childhood in China by Na Liu and Andres Vera Martinez
Hilda and the Midnight Giant by Luke Pearson
Building Stories by Chris Ware
The Infinite Wait and Other Stories by Julia Wertz
The Carter Family: Don’t Forget This Song by Frank M. Young and David Lasky

The Cartoonist Studio Prize for Best Web Comic of the Year: 2012 Shortlist

Sarah and the Seed by Ryan Andrews
Lucky by Gabrielle Bell
Bouletcorp by Boulet
Untold Tales of Bigfoot by Vince Dorse
The First Word by Patrick Farley
The Dailies by Dakota McFadzean
xkcd by Randall Munroe
Subnormality by Winston Rowntree
Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
SuperMutant Magic Academy by Jillian Tamaki