2012 Edgar Award Winners Revealed

By Dianna Dilworth Comment

The Mystery Writers of America have revealed the winners of this year’s Edgar Awards. The annual prize is named after beloved writer Edgar Allan Poe, awarded to the best authors in the mystery genre since 1945.

Follow this link to read free samples of all the finalists, the best mystery books of the year.

These awards recognize the following categories: novel, first novel, paperback original, fact crime, critical/biographical, short story, juvenile, young adult, play, and TV episode. Last year’s winners included Steve Hamilton, Dori Hillestad Butler, and Charlie Price. Below, we’ve listed the winners in several top categories.

Best Novel

Gone by Mo Hayder (Grove/Atlantic – Atlantic Monthly Press)

Best Fact Crime

Destiny of the Republic: A Tale of Madness, Medicine and the Murder of a President by Candice Millard (Random House – Doubleday)

Best Juvenile

Icefall by Matthew J. Kirby (Scholastic Press)

Best Young Adult

The Silence of Murder by Dandi Daley Mackall (Random House Children’s Books – Knopf BFYR)

The Simon & Schuster-Mary Higgins Clark Award

Learning to Swim by Sara J. Henry (Crown Publishing Group)

Raven Awards

M is for Mystery Bookstore (San Mateo, CA)
Molly Weston (Meritorious Mysteries)