2010 James Beard Foundation Winners Announced

By Jason Boog Comment

awardsfood.pngAs this GalleyCat editor prepares to go home for supper, reading about the winners and losers at this year’s 2010 James Beard Foundation Media & Book Awards for cookbooks and food writing is tough. We missed the glitzy awards ceremony, but our correspondent Blake Gernstetter bravely attended the ceremony.

Here’s more from the post: “Among the evening’s surprises, 14-time JBA winner Alan Richman, who was nominated for three awards this year, was shut out in each category. The Cookbook of the Year award went to Colman Andrews for The Country Cooking of Ireland, perhaps a milestone in reversing the country’s cuisine stereotypes. Other highlights include Judith Jones’ standing ovation when she inducted Claudia Roden into the Cookbook Hall of Fame, Italian cookbook author and winner Oretta Zanini de Vita’s authentically touching acceptance speech, and a bittersweet win for former Gourmet writer Barry Estabrook, who took home the Magazine Feature Writing with Recipes award for “The Price of Tomatoes.” Former Gourmet editor-in-chief (and TV show nominee) Ruth Reichl was unable to attend due to a broken foot, but the recovering gourmand sent tweets of congratulations from home.”

Pictured above (via): Tanya Henry (left), with author Anna Thomas, who took home the Beard Book Award in the Healthy Focus category for ‘Love Soup: 160 All-New Vegetarian Recipes.’ Read the complete results at FishbowlNY.