Twitter Tweaks Block Button

Twitter released a small tweak to its block button that closed two pre-existing loopholes.

Twitter released a small tweak to its block button that closed two pre-existing loopholes.

The social network announced the update in a tweet (embedded below), which directed users to Twitter’s Safety Center, where the description for the block button reads:

A powerful tool to restrict people from contacting you or seeing your tweets when logged into Twitter.

When you block someone on Twitter, they cannot follow you or send direct messages. If they @ mention you, you will not see a notification.

CNET pointed out that prior to this update, users could see tweets from blocked users if other users retweeted them, and vice versa, but that is no longer the case.

Readers: What are your thoughts on this update to the Twitter block button?