ASME Announces Changes To 2011 National Magazine Awards

The American Society of Magazine Editors (ASME) announced today that it will be instituting a few changes in the 2011 National Magazine Awards, or “Ellies.”

ASME has decided to hold the next National Magazine Awards ceremony as a dinner at 583 Park Avenue in New York City on May 9, 2011. Meanwhile the National Magazine Awards for Digital Media will continue to be presented at a luncheon ceremony in conjunction with the MPA Digital conference on March 16, 2011 at the Hilton New York.

ASME chief executive Sid Holt explains the change:

We feel turning the print awards into a dinner will enhance the sense of celebration and community for the entire magazine industry. Not only will a sit-down dinner be more fun, but it will give editors and publishers a chance to invite their magazine’s friends and clients.

ASME has also tweaked several of its awards categories, including those for General Excellence. Beginning with the 2011 National Magazine Awards, the General Excellence categories will be based on content, audience, frequency and circulation, a departure from preceding years’ awards presented in six categories based on circulation size. Thus, the new General Excellence, Print, categories are as follows:

  • News, Sports and Entertainment Magazines
    Honors large-circulation weeklies, biweeklies and general-interest monthlies
  • Fashion, Service and Lifestyle Magazines
    Honors women’s magazines, including health and fitness magazines and family-centric publications
  • Active Lifestyle Magazines
    Honors active sports, men’s lifestyle and business, finance and technology magazines
  • Food, Travel and Design Magazines
    Honors dual-audience lifestyle publications, including shelter magazines
  • Special Interest Magazines
    Honors magazines serving targeted audiences, including city and regional magazines
  • Literary Journals and Opinion Magazines
    Honors scholarly and professional publications as well as literary and political magazines

The awards will also now describe Photojournalism as News Photography, and Photo Portfolio as Feature Photography in an effort to broaden the types of work eligible for these distinctions.

The General Excellence, Digital Media, award will now be being split into two categories: General Excellence, Digital Media: News and Opinion and General Excellence, Digital Media: Service and Lifestyle.