‘Jimmy Kimmel Live’ Uses Facebook Video to Boost Local Bands During SXSW

ABC’s Jimmy Kimmel Live aired live from Austin, Texas, during the recent South by Southwest gathering, and Facebook videos were used in a side effort to promote local bands.

DickyBarrettJimmyKimmelLiveAustinABC’s Jimmy Kimmel Live aired live from Austin, Texas, during the recent South by Southwest gathering, and Facebook videos were used in a side effort to promote local bands.

Mighty Mighty Bosstones frontman Dicky Barrett interviewed artists including The Lost Pines, and videos of performances and the interviews were posted to the show’s Facebook page.

We’re in Austin for #SouthBySouthwest! Every day this week we have local acoustic bands performing outside for the…

Posted by Jimmy Kimmel Live on Tuesday, March 17, 2015

Kimmel also participated in his first question-and-answer session on the social network.

Jimmy Kimmel is answering your questions tomorrow at 2pm central (3pm ET | noon PT) here on Facebook. Post your questions below, and he just might answer them!

Posted by Jimmy Kimmel Live on Saturday, March 14, 2015

Kelly Michelena and Jonathan Hull — who work on broadcast and music partnerships, respectively, for Facebook — wrote in a Facebook Media blog post that the video series helped propel the Jimmy Kimmel Live page to nearly 2 million video views and 18,000 new likes during the week of SXSW.

Kimmel also received nearly 8,000 fan questions for his Facebook Q&A.

Readers: Did you interact with the Jimmy Kimmel Live Facebook page during SXSW week?