Friends and Colleagues Fete Embeds’ Palin Book

Former campaign embeds Scott Conroy and Shushannah Walshe’s book on Sarah Palin is out this week, and friends and colleagues feted the CBS reporter and former Fox reporter at last night’s DC book signing and party.

Conroy and Walshe signed books and read an excerpt to a crowd at Borders downtown. They also took about 30 minutes of questions from the audience, which will air on C-SPAN’s Book TV this weekend.

Earlier yesterday, Conroy visited his old stomping ground at Georgetown University. He had planned to do a book signing, but the campus book store was not selling his book (yet)– a funny story he shared over drinks last night’s book party at Agraria.

Steve Chaggaris, Rob Hendin, Jane Chick, Michelle Levi and Fernando Suarez were there from CBS. Sasha Issenberg, Mike Memoli, Jonathan Martin, Mike Madden, Erin McPike and Peter Hamby were also around to celebrate at Agraria in Georgetown. Attorney Ben Ginsburg, who was national counsel to the Bush-Cheney and Romney campaigns, also attended.

“Sarah From Alaska: The Sudden Rise and Brutal Education of a New Conservative Superstar” is published by Peter Osnos’ PublicAffairs. And Chaggy, McPike and Hamby all got shout-outs in the book’s acknowledgments after the jump.

More photos after the jump…

From the acknowledgments: “Steve Chaggaris never seems to get the credit he deserves, which is why it is so gratifying to thank him for providing a life changing opportunity… Jason Recher was particularly generous with his time, and his memory for detail was matched only by Matthew Scully’s. Some of the former campaign staffers we spoke to wished not to be named, but Jeannie Etchart, Chris Edwards, Mark Salter, Cecil Wallace, Shealah Craighead, John Green, Douglas Holtz-Eakin, and Jordan Hostetter were particularly helpful in elucidating the historical record, and Lisa Kline was generous enough to speak to us exclusively. … Thanks are also in order to John Coale, Fred Malek, Rebecca Mansour, Bill Kristol, Fred Barnes, Jeb Bradley, Sarah Huckabee, Ken Green, Chuck Larson, Eric Woolson, Ed Failor, Kraig Paulsen, Dave Roederer, and Dotty Lynch. Finally, we owe a special debt of gratitude to Peter Hamby, Tim Albrecht, Elizabeth Holmes, Matt Stuart, Erin McPike, Katie Connolly, Michael Luo, Abby Brack, Will Ritter, Michael Levenson, Alex Marquardt, and everyone else with whom we spent some of the most challenging, yet incomparably rewarding, months of our lives on the 2008 campaign trail.”