Out & In Alerts Facebook Users When They're Unfriended

The latest attempt to alert Facebook users when they have been unfriended is Out & In, from Italy's Wasabit.

The latest attempt at an app that alerts Facebook users when they have been unfriended is Out & In, from Italy’s Wasabit.

Out & In works via Facebook Connect, and it accesses users’ friend lists every time they log into the social network, and then compares them with the previous lists, reporting the changes.

No installation of plug-ins or software is required.

It will be interesting to see how long Out & In sticks around, as Facebook has historically not been friendly to apps of its ilk.

We reported on a similar app called Defriend Alert in March, but its website appears to be gone. And in that post, we mentioned that Facebook shut down iPhone app Defriended in January 2010.

Section 2 of the Facebook platform developer agreement had stated at that time, “You must not notify a user that someone has removed the user as a friend,” but that requirement appears to have been stricken from the latest version, posted October 10.

Readers, why do you suppose that people worry about whether anyone’s unfriended them on Facebook?