Doug Jaeger Named Art Directors Club President

jaeger.jpgThe venerable Art Directors Club (ADC) is 88 years old. Its new president, Doug Jaeger, is but 33, making him the youngest person ever to hold the position. He succeeds Paul Lavoie, chairman and chief creative officer at TAXI. Despite Jaeger’s stern expression in the photo at right, he is the founder and CEO of thehappycorp global, a branding and design agency with a mesmerizing smiley face splash page and the stated mission of “improving gross national happiness through the invention, management, and maintenance of progressive brands and ideas.” He spreads still more joy as director of LVHRD, the hard-living digital media pranksters behind events such as those architectural smackdowns we so enjoy.

As ADC president (for a three-year term that officially begins Wednesday), Jaeger pledges to expand the organization’s role in connecting members to each other and to the world at large. “We will use technology, new programs, and events to be a valued online and offline social network for the personal and professional gain of our members,” he said in a press release issued this afternoon. And it’s not just about art directors. “Design influences culture, and we want to be connected to the outside world in a relevant, and at times provocative, way.”

The ADC has also added four new directors to its board, elevated two directors to officers, and promoted ADC executive director Ami Brophy to the role of CEO. Click “continued…” for the details on the new appointments and board members.

ADC Appointments: Rei Inamoto, global creative director, AKQA, San Francisco, becomes first vice president, and Elizabeth Talerman, partner at Talerman + Partners, will serve as secretary. Ami Brophy, previously executive director of the ADC, has been promoted to CEO.

ADC Board News: Four members joined the ADC board of directors: David Angelo, chairman, CCO, David & Goliath; Craig Dubitsky, co-founder, managing partner, The Kind Group; Rob Feakins, president, CCO, Publicis New York and CCO, Publicis Modem & Dialog East; and Noreen Morioka, partner, AdamsMorioka.

Continuing on the ADC board are Brian Collins, chairman, chief creative, COLLINS:, (also serving as ADC second vice president); Steven Smith, partner, Stephen M. Smith & Co., (and ADC treasurer); Chee Pearlman, principal, Chee Company (and ADC assistant secretary); Roger Baxter, Hall & Partners; Janet Froelich, creative director, New York Times Magazine; Ann Harakawa, principal, Two Twelve Associates; Rick Kurnit, partner, Frankfurt, Kurnit, Klein & Selz; Benjamin Palmer, CEO, the barbarian group; Rob Rasmussen, executive creative director, R/GA; Anthony Rhodes, executive vice president, School of Visual Arts; and Jakob Trollback, president, creative director, Trollback + Company.

ADC emeritus board members include Rick Boyko, managing director, VCU Adcenter; Jon Kamen, CEO,; and Parry Merkley, chairman emeritus, Merkley + Partners. Bob Greenberg, chairman, CEO, CCO, R/GA and ADC past president (2002 to 2005), serves as president of the ADC advisory board.