Debates Announced

From the release:

    Paul G. Kirk, Jr. and Frank J. Fahrenkopf, Jr., co-chairmen of the non-partisan Commission on Presidential Debates (CPD), today announced the moderators for the 2008 general election presidential and vice presidential debates. The moderators, and the schedule and locations for the debates (as announced on November 21, 2007), are as follows:

    First presidential debate
    Friday, September 26
    The University of Mississippi, Oxford, Miss.
    Jim Lehrer
    Executive Editor and Anchor, The NewsHour, PBS

    Vice presidential debate
    Thursday, October 2
    Washington University in St. Louis, Mo.
    Gwen Ifill
    Senior Correspondent, The NewsHour, and Moderator and Managing Editor,
    Washington Week, PBS

    Second presidential debate (town meeting)
    Tuesday, October 7
    Belmont University, Nashville, Tenn.
    Tom Brokaw
    Special Correspondent, NBC News

    Third presidential debate
    Wednesday, October 15
    Hofstra University, Hempstead, N.Y.
    Bob Schieffer
    CBS News Chief Washington Correspondent, and Host, Face the Nation

Read the rest here.

And don’t forget: Jim Lehrer has hosted the first presidential debate every four years since the first Bush-Dukakis debate in 1988.