2009 Walter Cronkite Awards Announced

The USC Annenberg School for Communications announced today the ten winners of the 2009 Walter Cronkite Awards for Excellence in Television Political Journalism.

Among them, ABC’s This Week with George Stephanopoulos is being recognized for its On the Trail series, interviews with the 2008 presidential candidates.

Now on PBS will also be awarded for “excellent coverage” in the report “New Voters in the New West,” which showed how both political parties sought to attract and hold first-time voters on college campuses and among New Mexico’s large Hispanic population.

CBS’s Katie Couric will be honored for “Special Achievement for National Impact on the 2008 Campaign.” From the release: for her “extraordinary, persistent and detailed multi-part interviews with Republican vice-presidential candidate Sarah Palin, which judges called a ‘defining moment in the 2008 presidential campaign.'”

The 2009 Cronkite Awards will be presented on April 15th at the USC Campus in Los Angeles. The full list of award recipients can be found here.