The envelope, please

It may not have the drama or cachet of the Academy Awards, but B COM3 finally announced the winners of the grand prize to name the holding company formed by the union of The Leo Group, The MacManus Group and Dentsu Inc.
Rather than pay a consultant a large fee, the organization tapped workers at its member agencies to come up with a name to replace BDM Inc.
And the winners are: Will Awdry, BBH London; Christine DeVries, Medicus Discovery International; Lorraine Pastore, Medicus New York; Megumi Shimada and Yuichi Okubo, Dentsu Tokyo; Vivian Chang, Dentsu Taiwan; Sheri Speling, Leo Burnett U.S.A.; Carol Achterhof, Leo Burnett U.S.A.; Marc-Olivier Naim, Leo Burnett/Paris; and Jens Ade, D’Arcy Hamburg.
The $50,000 grand prize will be split evenly among the 10 winners, resulting in a nice $5,000 bonus for the submissions, which were permutations of the word “beacon” or “BCOM,” inspiring what the holding company’s leaders, with attorney approval, chose as their new moniker, B COM3.
–Aaron Baar