Boston Ad Club Names Rosoff Award Winners

BOSTON The Ad Club in Boston has disclosed the winners of its 13th annual Rosoff Awards honoring efforts promoting diversity in the workplace.

These include:

• Diversity Initiative, Internal: Initiative for a New Economy

• Diversity Initiative, External: Neighborhood Health Plan

• Marketing to a Diverse Audience: Orbitz, with Mullen and BarkBark

• Agent of Change: Deborah Washington, director of diversity, patient care services, Massachusetts General Hospital

• Mentor Award: Annapoorni Sankaran, shareholder, Greenberg Traurig

• Mentor Award: Michael James, chief diversity officer, Boston Architectural College

The prizes will be presented Monday at the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston at 6 p.m., at a show emceed Kim McLarin, host of WGBH’s Basic Black. Cleve Killingsworth, chairman and CEO of Blue Cross Blue Shield Massachusetts, will deliver the keynote address.

The Rosoff Awards are named for Arnold Z. Rosoff, the founder of what is now Arnold in Boston. “In the 21st century, workplace diversity is more than a means of achieving social justice; it is an essential business strategy,” said Rosoff, in his letter to be published as part of the program.

Rosoff, a New England ad industry legend, in 1946 named his agency after his first name because he was afraid “Rosoff Advertising” would sound too Jewish to lure big clients. Since then, diversity has been among his top personal and professional commitments. He is now 92 and will attend this year’s awards ceremony.

Also this year, the Ad Club partnered with five New England colleges — the Berklee College of Music, Boston University, Emerson College, Massachusetts College of Art and Design and the School of the Museum of Fine Arts — to give away over $100,000 in scholarships. Those scholarships will be presented to 10 students from the Boston Public School system by Carol Johnson, BPS superintendent. A corporate sponsor also supported each scholarship.

Event sponsors include: Allen & Gerritsen, Arnold, Bank of America, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts, BNY Mellon, Boston Globe Media, Citizens Bank, Cooley Manion Jones, Deloitte, Digitas, EMC, Greenberg Traurig, Liberty Mutual, McCarter & English, Monster, Mullen, Neighborhood Health Plan, Ocean Spray, Partners + Simons, Professional Staffing Group, Sovereign Bank, Staples, the Boston Foundation, the Wall Street Journal and Verizon.

Stephen Howard, BCBS of Mass. senior director of public affairs, chaired the Rosoff Awards planning committee. Other notable committee members include Malcolm Rogers, director of the Museum of Fine Arts; Roger Brown, president of the Berklee College of Music; Bob Coughlin, president and CEO of the Mass. BioTech Council; Paul Guzzi, CEO of the Greater Boston Chamber of Commerce; Michael Olivieri, publisher of the BBJ; and other business and community leaders.