Award Shows Name Jury Heads

NEW YORK Gearing up for the creative award show season beginning later this year, the International Advertising Festival and the Outdoor Advertising Association of America have named jury leaders.

Fernando Vega Olmos, president of VegaOlmosPonce in Buenos Aires, Argentina, and Unilever worldwide creative director at Lowe, will head the 2006 outdoor Lions jury in Cannes. This year marks the first time the press and outdoor category will have separate dedicated juries. Olmos was previously a jury member on the first press and outdoor jury in 1992. Also, Renetta McCann, CEO of Starcom MediaVest Group in Chicago, will chair the 2006 media Lions jury.

Separately, Steffan Postaer, chairman and chief creative officer of Euro RSCG in Chicago, will chair the Outdoor Advertising Association of America’s 2006 Obie Awards jury. Judging will take place in Miami on Feb. 10. Six other members of the panel are: Trevor Beattie, co-founder, Beattie McGuinness Bungay, London; Esther Lee, svp, CCO, Coca-Cola Co., Atlanta; Dave Peterson, founder, creative director, Peterson Milla Hooks, Minneapolis; Jean Pool, evp, COO, North America, Universal McCann, New York; Sean Robertson, creative director, CBS Outdoor, San Francisco; and Paul Venables, co-founder, Venables Bell & Partners, San Francisco.

The International Advertising Festival will take place in Cannes, France, June 18-24. The Obie Awards will be presented April 25 at the Traffic Audit Bureau’s 2006 Out of Home Media Conference and Marketing Expo in Palm Desert, Calif.