4A’s Nominates Hopp as Vice Chairman

NEW YORK The advisory council of the American Association of Advertising Agencies said it has nominated Anthony Hopp, chairman and CEO of Interpublic Group’s Campbell-Ewald in Warren, Mich., to serve a one-year term as vice chairman of the trade group’s board of directors.

The vice chair’s term begins at the 4A’s management conference in May, as do all other nominated positions.

Hopp began working at Campbell-Ewald in 1968 and was elected chairman and CEO in 1997. Hopp previously served as a 4A’s director-at-large for the past four years.

“For nearly 90 years, the 4A’s has supported agencies in helping American businesses market products, grow enterprises and expand the economy,” said Hopp in a statement. “I look forward to working with members as we strive to enhance the value the industry brings to our clients’ businesses.”

Following his term as vice chairman, Hopp is expected to assume the role of chairman, as is customary for the vice chair, in 2006.

Ron Berger, chief creative officer and CEO at Havas’ Euro RSCG in New York, continues as 4A’s chairman, serving the second year of his term.

Sharon Napier, president and CEO of Partners + Napier in Rochester, N.Y., was nominated to a two-year term as the association board’s secretary-treasurer for 2005-07.

In addition, four new directors-at-large were nominated to begin three-year terms. They are: Tom Bernardin, CEO of Publicis Groupe’s Leo Burnett in Chicago; Ken Kaess, president and CEO of Omnicom’s DDB in New York; Linda Sawyer, managing partner and COO of IPG’s Deutsch in York; and Mike Sheehan, president and CEO of IPG’s Hill, Holliday, Connors, Cosmopulos in Boston.

—Adweek staff report